Father’s Influence on UTA’s McLemore

Mark and Darien McLemore

Courtesy: dallasnews.com

It doesn’t hurt if your dad knows a thing or two about baseball. It certainly helped UTA second baseman Darien McLemore.

If the last name sounds familiar to Rangers fans, that’s because Darien is the son of Rangers TV analyst and former second baseman Mark McLemore, also known as the “Doctor of Defense” from his days of roaming the infield in a Rangers uniform.

“To me that was a normal everyday life with him, being a professional athlete and being able to teach me all the things I needed to learn to be able to play baseball at the highest level possible,” said the Mavericks second baseman.

He’s certainly taking his father’s advice. McLemore is hitting .330 at the plate this season while playing solid defense at second.

“After every game we always talk about baseball, no matter what it is,” said McLemore. “If I had a great game, we’ll talk about the things I did great. If I had a bad game, we’ll talk about things I did well, things I can improve on. The things he’s taught me over the years the most is to be able to analyze my own game. He’s instilled the values in me to learn myself, as a player, to be able to know what I’m doing wrong and how I can fix that.”

So the conversation now turns to the younger McLemore breaking down his father’s play as an analyst. “I make fun of his broadcasting,” said Darien. “I get onto him, as well as my brother and sister, a lot about things he says on-air and things he does on-air, just because it’s fun. It’s always nice to keep it light with him.”

McLemore came to UTA from one of the best high school baseball programs around, Southlake Carroll. “It’s a very prestigious program. It’s a great place to be to get a lot of spotlight on you and get recognition,” said McLemore. “So I think that was a really good thing for me, to be able to get out there and be seen by a lot of big programs like UTA.”

Written by C.James

Leave a Reply

