Allen Americans Win 4th Straight Championship

2016 Allen Americans

Is there a catchy “cliché” for when you win four straight championships? You already have back-to-back and three-peat, but anything beyond that?

Possibly not because it doesn’t happen very often, except on Thursday night in Allen.

The Allen Americans beat the Wheeling Nailers 4-2 in Game 6 of the ECHL Kelly Cup Finals, clinching their second straight Kelly Cup. They won the CHL President’s Cups for two consecutive years prior to the move to the ECHL.

Chad Costello was named playoffs MVP after leading the Americans and the league with 36 postseason points. He also won the regular season MVP.

“It never gets old,” said Costello. “We have an amazing group of guys who all share this award. Steve Martinson is an unbelievable coach who just keeps winning.”

The Americans got great goalie play from Riley Gill, who picked up his league-leading 12th postseason win. Gill is the all-time ECHL leader in postseason victories. Greger Hanson scored one of the three power play goals in Game 6 to help keep the Kelly Cup in Allen.

The Americans, an affiliate of the San Jose Sharks, is the first ECHL team to win back-to-back titles since 1993-94. They’ve now won four straight AA hockey titles.

May need a word for “five-peat” next season.

Written by C. James


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s